Pearland Independent School District has revealed its 2021-2022 Campus Teacher and Paraprofessional Award winners as well as Employee of the Year.

Rebecca Morris of Challenger Elementary School and Jason Frerking of Pearland Junior High South were each named Principal of the Year.

Campus Teachers of the Year are: Carlos Pineda, Carleston Elementary School; Jennifer Hinojosa, Challenger Elementary School; Carly Hernandez, Cockrell Elementary School; Becki Schuck, Harris Elementary School; Yvonne Garcia, Lawhon Elementary School; Dale Nguyen, Magnolia Elementary School; Hina Uddin, Massey Ranch Elementary School; Jennifer Guthrie, Rustic Oak Elementary School; Juliet Marie Allison, Shadycrest Elementary School; Melynda Wood, Silvercrest Elementary School; Jenna Berlanga, Silverlake Elementary School; Marty Gibson, Alexander College; Angelina Bouchard, Jamison Middle School; Christine Meador-Garcia, Rogers Middle School; Melissa Vera, Sablatura College; Jill Laird, Berry Miller Junior High School; Krystal Flores, Junior High East; Holly Hall, Junior High South; Valarie Kubos, Junior High West; Troy Myers, Dawson High School; Megan Pelc, Pearland High School; Kyla Mora, Turner College & Career High School; and Tiffany Shelton, PACE Center.

The recipients of the Glenda Dawson Award for Grade One Teachers are: Rylee Deckard Figueroa, Carleston Elementary School; Cheryl Behm, Cockrell Elementary School; Angie Mendez, Lawhon Elementary School; Tara Randall, Magnolia Elementary School; Joseph Ray, Massey Ranch Elementary School; Jacqueline Townsend, Rustic Oak Elementary School; Kailey Waddell, Silverlake Elementary School; Tyler Hensley, Alexander College; Nicholas Bretzke, Jamison College; Kristina Taylor, Rogers Middle School; Savannah Sheppard, Sablatura College; Javier Cervantes-Tinajero, Pearland Junior High East; Aaron Koterwas, Pearland Junior High South; Morgan Taylor, Pearland Junior High West; Ryan Woods, Dawson High School; and Sergio Medrano, Pearland High School.

Twenty-three employees received Paraprofessional of the Year recognition: Nohemi Cruz, Carleston Elementary School; Kaylie Fogelman, Challenger Elementary School; Frankie Zucha, Cockrell Elementary School; Warren Burgess, Harris Elementary School; Lisbeth Vega, Lawhon Elementary School; Melissa Blythe, Magnolia Elementary School; Shanna Harris, Massey Ranch Elementary School; Karina Errasti, Rustic Oak Elementary School; Sheila Glover, Shadycrest Elementary School; Maritza Elizarraras, Silvercrest Elementary School; Rebecca Treadway, Silverlake Elementary School; Brittany Reed, Alexander College; Colleen Sauter, Sam Jamison College; Ana Garcia, Rogers College; David Torres, Leon Sablatura College; Annette Chapa, Berry Miller High School; Nicole Gunn, Pearland Junior High East; Kalan Estes, Pearland Junior High South; Cheryl Crocker, Pearland Junior High West; Viviana Guzman, Turner College & Career High School; Michelle Frissell, PACE Center; Amanda Ramirez, Glenda Dawson High School; and Jessica Mora, Pearland High School.

Employees of the Year are: Noelia Cano, Gina Dombrosky, Olga Pochyniuk, Dale “Rudy” Sandoval and Benny Wheeler.

The district’s elementary and secondary teacher award winners will be named at the Employee Service Awards Celebration on April 29.

Pre-K, kindergarten registration in progress

The Pearland Independent School District has opened its online new student enrollment portal for families looking to place their children in junior kindergarten and kindergarten for the 2022-2023 year.

Parents must complete the online registration process. Visit or to learn more.

ACC gymnasium reopens

After nearly two years of closure, Alvin Community College Fitness Center celebrated its reopening on March 30.

The center closed in March 2020 during campus renovations. It now has a new ventilation system, enlarged bathrooms, improved lighting and more.

“The fitness center has purchased several new treadmills that are self-paced and do not require electricity to operate,” said health and physical education instructor Bonny Johnson. “We also have a new seated lying lateral training machine.”

Access to the center is free for faculty and staff as well as for students who have paid an activity fee. To learn more, visit or call 281-756-3691.